You can set user and password preferences in QuickBooks Desktop for Mac so that users only have access to the information they need for their job. You can monitor what users can see and do in various areas of QuickBooks, such as banking, purchases, payroll, and expenses, this way.

Please note that if you’re adding more than one person, you’ll need to do the following:

  • Be sure to pick the account you’ll be using for payroll because it contains confidential information. To do so, go to the User and Passwords window and select Set Payroll Accounts, then select the account.
  • Set a closing data and password to prevent users from changing something you’ve done previously.

How to create, edit, and remove a user

  • Select company, then Users and Passwords from the drop-down menu.
      • To add a consumer: Select the plus sign (+), then type in a username and password before configuring account permissions.
      • To edit a user: double-click it and make your changes.
      • To remove a user: Choose the user’s name, then the minus symbol (-).
  • Close the Preferences window when you’re done.

What is the procedure for changing a user's password?

Each user can change their password. To do so, go to the User and Preferences window, double-click the user, and then change the password.

How to update the passwords of all users?

Both users who have access to the company file may have their passwords reset by an admin. Here’s how to do it.

  • Select Business, then Users and Passwords from the drop-down menu.
  • Select the Reset All Passwords checkbox.
  • For each user, create a new password.
  • Close the Preferences window when you’re done.

Permissions you can assign: Permissions are used to grant or deny access to users in various QuickBooks areas. You can give users one of two forms of access:

  • QuickBooks (Administrative) in all areas: This gives the customer complete control over the company register. Assign this permission to your account if you’re the owner of the company register.
  • Customise QuickBooks in the following areas: You can select what the user can see in QuickBooks if you want to limit access to certain zones. Select the places you want the consumer to have access to.

Please note that you can only have one administrator in QuickBooks Desktop for Mac 2019 and higher. If you have several administrators in older QuickBooks models, pick one to be the sole administrator. Except for admin-only permissions, including building or modifying user accounts, the former administrators will retain their previous consents.



Area of QuickBooks

What the user can do

Accounts Payable

Work on vendor-related tasks, like entering and paying bills.

Accounts Receivable

Work on customer-related tasks, like creating invoices or accepting customer payments.

Checking and Credit Cards

Write checks and enter transactions for company credit cards.

Inventory

Order, track, and pay for inventory.

Payroll

Work on payroll-related tasks, like creating paychecks.

Sensitive Accounting

Work with accounting-related data with sensitive information, like banking, Merchant Services, 1099s and Chart of Accounts.

Sensitive Financial

Work with financial features that contain sensitive information, like reports, memorised transactions, Chart of Accounts, lists, and inventory adjustments.

Time Tracking

Work on time tracking tasks, like importing My Time data.

Unauthorised users can’t see the account balances: Accounts receivable, payable, bank and credit card proportions are all shown on the Home Page. Users’ access privileges must be limited to prevent them from seeing account balances.

  • Pick Set, Up Users and Password from the Company menu, then Set Up Users.
  • Select Edit User after highlighting the user.
  • Select the Selected Quickbooks Areas choice, then Next until you reach the Sensitive Accounting Activities tab.
  • No Access is the option to choose.
  • Select Next until you hit the end of the list, then Finish.

Unexpected Results: How to Handle Them

When adding a new QuickBooks account, the error “There is already a user with that name” appears.

  • Solution 1: Install the most recent version of QuickBooks Desktop.
  • Solution 2: Make a QuickBooks portable company file or restore one that already exists.
  • Solution 3: Recover data from your company’s file that has been damaged.

Payroll Setup is only accessible to users with complete access: Secondary users who are not the Admin or External Accountant cannot open the Payroll Setup, even though they have full access and are in single-user mode.

Conclusion

In conclusion, QuickBooks Desktop software is accounting software that has different features and functions, and you can run this accounting software on the Mac as well. In his blog, you will know more about how you can add users and set permissions in QuickBooks Desktop Mac 2020, so please read the whole blog carefully. 

Share this Link: